## Item 8 – Conservationist of the Year Considerations

The Education/Conservation Committee met July 10, 2017 to consider Conservationist of the Year recommendations. It was suggested the committee consider allowing District staff members to identify teachers and administrators throughout the District who aided the District's efforts to educate about aquifer science and water conservation. It was brought to the attention of committee members there were certain individuals that not only embraced the program but helped push the program out to other schools and school districts. There are also those schools that have incorporated new curriculum approaches offered by the District without hesitation.

The recommendation of the committee to allow District staff to select the individuals that have been integral to the success of the District's educational program for recognition as "Conservationists of the Year" was approved by the Board during the September 14, 2017 board meeting.

Below is a listing of those selected by staff:

Amanda Mann – 4<sup>th</sup>/7<sup>th</sup> grade teacher (Spring Creek Elementary – 4<sup>th</sup>/AMCMS – 7<sup>th</sup>)

Leah Gibson – 4<sup>th</sup> grade teacher (Southwood Elementary)

Lisa Eddrington – 5<sup>th</sup> grade science teacher (Oakwood Middle School)

Jennifer Morehead – 5<sup>th</sup> grade science teacher (Oakwood Middle School)

Marlisa Kennedy – 5<sup>th</sup> grade science teacher (Oakwood Middle School)

Karen Rossman – 4<sup>th</sup> grade teacher (Henderson Elementary)

Jennifer McLaughlin – 4<sup>th</sup> grade teacher (Bonham Elementary)

Crystal Siegert – 4<sup>th</sup> & 5<sup>th</sup> grade Instructional Coach (Bryan ISD)