Memo

To: Alan Day

From: Heather Harward

cc: Monique Norman

Date: March 11, 2019

Re: Legislative Update

TEXAS LEGISLATURE

The 86th Texas Legislature convened on Tuesday, January 8, 2019. Newly elected members were sworn into the Texas Senate and the Texas House of Representatives. Following 140 days, the 86th Legislature will adjourn Sine Die on May 27, 2019. Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick presides over the Texas Senate and Speaker Dennis Bonnen presides over the Texas House of Representatives. The bill filing deadline was Friday, March 8, 2019. While bills can be introduced after the deadline, doing so requires approval of the chamber in which the bill is to be introduced.

State of the State

Governor Abbott delivered his "State of the State Address to the 86th Legislature" on February 5, 2019. During his address, Abbott declared the following emergency items: property tax reform, increasing teacher pay and reforming school finance, disaster preparedness and recovery, increasing safety at schools, and funding mental health programs.

Senate Water and Rural Affairs (SWRA) Committee

Committee membership of SWRA for the 86th Legislature is as follows: Perry (Chair), Creighton (Vice-Chair), Alvarado, Johnson, Kolkhorst, Rodríguez, and Taylor.

SWRA will meet on Mondays at 3:00 p.m., or upon adjournment of the Senate.

SWRA will hold their first committee hearing to hear legislation on Monday, March 11, 2019. Committee agendas may be viewed here:

https://capitol.texas.gov/Committees/MeetingsByCmte.aspx?Leg=86&Chamber=S&Cmte Code=C700

House Natural Resources Committee (HNRC)

Committee membership of HNRC for the 86th Legislature is as follows: Larson (Chair) Metcalf (Vice-Chair) Dominguez, Farrar, Harris, King, T.O., Lang, Nevarez, Oliverson, Price, and Ramos.

HNRC will meet on Tuesdays at 10:30 a.m., or upon adjournment of the House.

HNRC held their first committee hearing to hear legislation on Tuesday, March 5, 2019. Committee agendas may be viewed here:

https://capitol.texas.gov/Committees/MeetingsByCmte.aspx?Leg=86&Chamber=H&CmteCode=C390

TEXAS ALLIANCE OF GROUNDWATER DISTRICTS (TAGD)

TAGD announced that Leah Martinnson will replace Sarah Schlessinger as Executive Director, effective March 1, 2019. TAGD will hold their Legislative Committee meeting on Friday, March 22, 2019, from 9 AM - 2PM at the SledgeLaw Group's offices in Austin.

TEXAS WATER CONSERVATION ASSOCIATION (TWCA)

TWCA held their Annual Convention March 6-8, 2019, at the Hyatt Regency Lost Pines Resort and Spa. The Convention included keynote presentations from: Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar, Senate Water and Rural Affairs Committee Chairman Charles Perry, House Natural Resources Committee Chairman Lyle Larson, and House State Affairs Committee Chairman Dade Phelan.